top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHeather Portillo

Devotionals From 2014

The Spirit In Our Hearts ActionsJuly 21, 2014 And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, "Abba! Father!"- Galatians 4:6 It is HIS spirit in us that cries out to God. Sometimes I feel my inner most being crying out to God. I'm longing for him. "Come quickly, father! I love you! I want to see you!" When I see injustice, a lack of love, compassion and mercy, my spirit...or The Spirit in me, cries out for God. "Make it stop, God! Do something, daddy!" I always thought it was me, my heart, my fruit. But this verse helped me realize that it is the Spirit of Jesus in my heart, giving me His heart. His longing to have all things made right and to bring all creation back to the creator. The phrase "crying" is so powerful. It's not just looking forward to or anticipating God as father. I picture a child being left at school or day care crying, "No, come back! I want to go home!" We are left here to learn, to work, to grow and to love. His Spirit in us will always long to be reconnected with God, the Father. Our time here is to be spent gathering His children back to him because Jesus heart is in us, creating a longing to see a life with Him in eternity. Father, Thank you for placing the Spirit of Your Son in our hearts! Help us to always be mindful of you and the work we have before us. Show yourself to us every day and cry out on our behalf when we feel far from you. Thank you for not just saving us, but giving us your Spirit and transforming our hearts. In Jesus' name, Amen. By Holly M at 10:22am | 1 comment

You will never see this parable the same way again ActionsJune 22, 2014 I can't take credit for this revelation. It was shared by Pastor A.T. at Crestwood Vineyard in Oklahoma City this morning. It was such a profound view of this parable that I just cannot get over it. It has me looking through the gospels to reexamine Jesus stories to find the deeper truth. A parable by definition is "an earthly story with a Heavenly message." We mostly view the story of the Good Samaritan as a message from Jesus to love God and love people and try to learn to be nicer to strangers, especially despised strangers. But in reality, the deeper message was Jesus sharing the gospel, His story. "One day an expert in religious law stood up to test Jesus by asking him this question: “Teacher, what should I do to inherit eternal life?” Jesus replied, “What does the law of Moses say? How do you read it?” The man answered, “‘You must love the LORD your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your strength, and all your mind.’ And, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’' “Right!” Jesus told him. “Do this and you will live!” The man wanted to justify his actions, so he asked Jesus, “And who is my neighbor?” Jesus replied with a story: “A Jewish man was traveling from Jerusalem down to Jericho, and he was attacked by bandits. They stripped him of his clothes, beat him up, and left him half dead beside the road. “By chance a priest came along. But when he saw the man lying there, he crossed to the other side of the road and passed him by. A Temple assistant walked over and looked at him lying there, but he also passed by on the other side. “Then a despised Samaritan came along, and when he saw the man, he felt compassion for him. Going over to him, the Samaritan soothed his wounds with olive oil and wine and bandaged them. Then he put the man on his own donkey and took him to an inn, where he took care of him. The next day he handed the innkeeper two silver coins, telling him, ‘Take care of this man. If his bill runs higher than this, I’ll pay you the next time I’m here.’ “Now which of these three would you say was a neighbor to the man who was attacked by bandits?” Jesus asked. The man replied, “The one who showed him mercy.” Then Jesus said, “Yes, now go and do the same.” (Luke 10:25-37 NLT) First of all the man was testing Jesus and even in giving an answer, he retorted with a justification of his own actions. Who exactly is my neighbor because I don't love everyone... Jesus told what became one of the most popular and well known parables of all times - the story of the Good Samaritan. But who do these characters represent? "A certain man" is Adam. The robber is Satan. The priest is law. The law which cannot resurrect the dead. The temple assistant is religion, rituals and festivals. It could not save man either. The despised Samaritan is half Jew and half Gentile - or half God and half man. The Samaritan comes to the man where he is - in his brokenness, half dead, naked and ashamed, unable to help himself. Jesus did that for us. Jesus cares for, heals, anoints and pours out his blood (wine) for us. The Good Samaritan left 2 danarii (2 days wages) because he intended on coming back on the 3rd day. God loves you in your brokenness, half dead, when you can't give anything back. He is love and it requires nothing in return. He will bind up your wounds and save you from the enemy. He will do what no work or religion could ever do. The last things Jesus said to the man was to go and do likewise - a call to be like himself and do his work. Father, I thank you for revealing the deeper message of the gospel in this well known parable. Thank you, Jesus for rescuing us in our weakness and healing our wounds, clothing us and giving us shelter. Thank you for coming back 3 days later to be sure we were well and pouring out the Holy Spirit on your people. Thank you for the call to be like you and the gift of the Spirit to do it! Amen. By Holly M at 3:49pm

The Call to Compassion ActionsJune 11, 2014 “When Jesus heard what had happened (to John the Baptist), he withdrew by boat privately to a solitary place. Hearing of this, the crowds followed him on foot from the towns. When Jesus landed and saw a large crowd, he had compassion on them and healed their sick. As evening approached, the disciples came to him and said, “This is a remote place, and it’s already getting late. Send the crowds away, so they can go to the villages and buy themselves some food.” Jesus replied, “They do not need to go away. You give them something to eat.” Matthew 14:13-16 Jesus is in the midst of mourning the loss of his cousin and friend when a large crowd finds him. While most of us would be too grieved to have compassion on someone else, Jesus set the example for loving others even when we are hurting. Jesus healed the sick and fed everyone in the group. By human standards, he had every right to send people away sick and hungry so that he could grieve alone. Instead, he welcomed them. This example seems to suggest that having compassion for others when we are hurting may be a source of emotional healing for ourselves. Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you for having compassion for me. I desire to reflect your compassion to those in need around me. Please open my eyes to those who are in need of compassion today. Make me more aware of opportunities to heal and feed people spiritually the way you continue to do for me. In Jesus' name, Amen. By Heather P at 2:35pm

What If I Stumble? ActionsApril 3, 2014 "The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand." Psalm 37:23-24 I believe that it is human nature to strive for nothing less than perfection. At the same time, it is humanly impossible to be anything other than flawed and bent toward error. We strive to be what we are not, which is often a good thing. For, without motivation and desire to be our best (even though we will never be the best), we would lose passion for the things that matter. Considering all of this, I pose the question - what if you stumble? What if you don't get that promotion, what if you try to conceive and it doesn't happen? What if your marriage falls apart or your children stray from the Lord? Have you failed? No! On the contrary, you have stepped onto a platform that will allow God to do a mighty work! Psalm 37:23-24 makes it clear that while we are certain to make mistakes, experience lapses in judgement, and disappointments in circumstances out of our control, we will never truly fail. As long as we delight in the Lord, He will be faithful to hold us up with His hands. Yes, God desires a hands on relationship. He longs to lead, prompt and guide you on your journey to eternity. What areas of your life do you feel you are stumbling in? What changes can you make in your attitude toward your life's bigger picture and God's role in it? Prayer: Heavenly Father, Thank you so much for your active role in my life. I've remember life without you and I am so grateful that you never took your eyes or hands off of me. I have stumbled many times, but thank you Lord for never letting me fall. Please take control of the areas in my life which I feel incompetent. I give these to you and pray that you will pour your wisdom over me so that I can glorify your name through my life! In Jesus' name, Amen. By Heather P at 2:50pm | 1 comment

The Raging Storm Of Life ActionsMarch 18, 2014 When trials come, don’t forget there is someone who can bring you peace. As you read these verses you will discover God's Truth and how much He cares about what we are going through in life. “Come to me,A)" style="vertical-align: top; ;"> all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest." Matthew 11:28 In this verse God confirms that we will have trouble in this imperfect world. I also love the way He ensures us that we can overcome anything life throws at us because we are following a Mighty God that has Overcame the World!! I just love His comforting words to us. "These things I have spoken to you, that in me you might have peace. In the world you shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world." John 16:33 Christ not only calms the physical seas, but He can also calm the seas within our minds and souls. Look to God in times of trouble. Remember we are never alone in the ragging storms of life. "The disciples went and woke him, saying, "Master, Master, we're going to drown!" He got up and rebuked the wind and the raging waters; the storm subsided, and all was calm." Luke 8:24 I often remind myself that God controls everything in my life. But often our human nature expects immediate results. It is easy to forget that God has the perfect timing for everything. I have been guilty of asking God, "Do you not care that I'm drowning here? I can't do this anymore!" God is patient with me and draws me back go this verse: "That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.” Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!” Mark 4:35-41 Do you call on your Heavenly Father when the waters of anguish begin to fill your ship? Do you trust Christ with your storm? Prayer: God, give me the wisdom to recognize that you have everything in control even the storms in life that often leave me feeling like I am drowning. Let me feel your peace , love and your mighty power through the Holy Spirit. Thank you, God for always calming my storm even when I feel your so far away. In Jesus Name, Amen By Sandra V at 11:00pm

Fear of God vs. Being Afraid ActionsMarch 12, 2014 I recently found myself pondering the difference between fearing God and being afraid. I asked myself, what does it mean to believe that God hasn't given us a spirit of fear and yet we are to fear Him. If we aren't supposed to be afraid of Him (or anything) what does scripture mean when it says to "Fear the Lord." I decided to put together several verses of scripture into one paragraph that would hopefully give the summation of the importance in Fearing God. To Fear the Lord... “Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil (Prov 3:7). The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction (Prov 1:7). The fear of the Lord is hatred of evil (Prov 8:13). Do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell (Matt 10:28 ). In the fear of the Lord one has strong confidence, and his children will have a refuge (Prov 14:26). Let all the earth fear the Lord; let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of him (Psalm 33:8)! The friendship of the Lord is for those who fear him, and he makes known to them his covenant (Psalm 25:14). His mercy is for those who fear him from generation to generation (Luke 1:50). Seeing these verses together helped me to realize that Fear of God is in many ways the opposite of living in fear or being afraid. Having a reverent awe for my Lord and Creator is what sustains me. Heavenly Father, Thank you for the wisdom to understand your Word. Thank you for revealing your truth to me when I come to you seeking clarity. I am so grateful that I can trust in your unfailing love and endless provision! In Jesus name, Amen. By Heather P at 1:59pm

Love > Faith ActionsFebruary 26, 2014 "So now faith, hope and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love." -- 1 Corinthians 13:13 I have been meditating on this verse for about a month now and it just blows me away every single time I think about it. Love is the greatest. Love is greater than faith. When faith waivers, it's not as important as if LOVE waivers. If hope waivers, it's not as important as if LOVE waivers. What do we know about faith? Hebrews 11:1, "Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see." Does God really value more highly our ability to maintain love of others than confidence in His willingness or ability to give us what we want and need? That's huge! What about hope? 1 Peter 1:3, "...he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead." The hope we have is that Jesus' resurrection secures our salvation and the promises of God. But love is greater! Why is love greater? Because God himself IS love! By walking in love, we embrace our identity as a creation made in His image. By walking in LOVE we remind the enemy, and ourselves for that matter, of the HOPE we have in Jesus and the FAITH that carries us through. Love is a verb, a catalyst, an activator, reminder, healer, a person -- Jesus Christ. Yes, LOVE is the greatest! By Holly M at 12:27pm

Maximizing Relationships ActionsFebruary 4, 2014 "Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works. And let us not neglect our meeting together, as some people do, but encourage one another, especially now that the day of his return is drawing near." Hebrews 10:24-25 Do you have a core group of friends who motivate you toward a Christ-Centered lifestyle and mode of thinking? Do you encourage others to do everything in love? In today's society it is so tempting to get together and review, rehash or revisit all of the negatives in our lives and the lives of those around us. Here, we see an encouragement to do the exact opposite. Consider Proverbs 27:17 which reads, "As iron sharpens iron, so a friend sharpens a friend." Are you sharpening your friends toward righteousness or toward division? Do your friends sharpen you toward victory in Christ or condemnation by the world? Positive and loving relationships are a crucial part of your relationship with Christ. God puts people in our lives at the right time and season to help us grow in our faith. I encourage you to embrace every healthy relationship, setting a regular time to meet (weekly, monthly, etc.) to sharpen and encourage each other. Never forsake gathering together! Treat this meeting like any other appointment. It is not penciled in on your calendar to be erased when something else comes up. After all, Christ' return is sooner than we realize! Prayer: Heavenly Father, thank you so much for every dear friend that you have brought into my life. I pray that you will help me to develop these relationships in a way that brings glory to you and prepares me for the return of Christ. I want to be ready and waiting. I want to be sharp and able to speak truth to others as they seek you. Use me God for your glory! In Jesus name, Amen. By Heather P at 1:08pm

The Spiritual Battle of Depression ActionsJanuary 24, 2014 "Day and night I cry, and tears are my only food; all the time my enemies ask me, “Where is your God?” My heart breaks when I remember the past, when I went with the crowds to the house of God and led them as they walked along, a happy crowd, singing and shouting praise to God. Why am I so sad? Why am I so troubled? I will put my hope in God, and once again I will praise him, my savior and my God." Psalms 42:3-5 Hearing this verse, I am reminded of what it feels like to experience the spiritual bondage of depression. Consider a time in your life when you were so deeply saddened that you lost your apatite and spent much of your time secluding yourself from the outside world. It is in the depths of depression that your spiritual enemy asks you, "Where is your God?". In a moment like this, depression is no longer a physical or emotional battle, it becomes a spiritual battle, indeed an "all out war". Consider Ephesians 6:12 where it is written, "For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places" When your enemy whispers "Where is your God?" do not be fooled into believing that it is your own thought. It is a unique and cunning form of oppression geared toward leading you away from your one true source of hope and joy! "My heart breaks when I remember the past..." What does that look like to you? It is a picture of guilt, regret and remorse. The scripture goes on to express a longing for the days when you walked closely with God and perhaps even led others in worship. But now for whatever reason there is some form of separation preventing a true connection with God. In this moment of struggle you must remember Romans 8:1, "So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus." When the enemy throws your past at you, do not give into the lies and labels he is trying to place on you. Remember your true identity and who God sees when He looks at you. There is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ! You have been set free from whatever it is that you did or didn't do, both sins of commission and omission. "Why am I so sad? Why am I so troubled? I will put my hope in God..." In the midst of tears of depression, do not entertain ideas of self harm, self hatred or suicide. Ask yourself, "why am I so sad? Why am I so troubled?" Put it into perspective. The enemy is tampering with your hope but he doesn't have permission to do so! Declare boldly and audibly, "I will put my hope in God and once again I will praise him my savior and my God." Praise and speaking God's Truth over yourself is a weapon the enemy is helpless to fight against. Turn your eyes toward God in your moment of depression and reject all negative thought, taking it captive and making it submit to the truth that you are free in Christ. Prayer: Father God, may I always lean on your word and truth rather than my own understanding or perception of my circumstances. May I replace the temptation to think negatively of myself with rejoicing and praising you! Please give me the confidence and courage to fight this spiritual battle boldly. In Jesus' name I pray, Amen. By Heather P at 1:51pm



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Devotionals 2016-2020

Visualizing and Personalizing God's Promises ActionsJune 26, 2020 Six Steps to Biblical Meditation:1. Pray to God to draw near as you "slow down" your mind and open your heart 2. Read passages that

Devotions from 2013

God's Unfailing Love Sandra V December 29, 2013 We often forget how blessed we are to have a God that loves us so much. Even though we often make so many mistakes God is still there to love on us a

Abide Ministries Launches October 1, 2013

We're so excited to see Abide Ministries launch it's community forum on October 1st. We look forward to offering our readers weekly blogs, video teachings, small group curriculum and daily devotional

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page