top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHeather Portillo

Devotionals 2016-2020

Visualizing and Personalizing God's Promises ActionsJune 26, 2020 Six Steps to Biblical Meditation:1. Pray to God to draw near as you "slow down" your mind and open your heart 2. Read passages that touch your heart 3. Worship through music 4. Pray for wisdom, clarity and guidance 5. Clear your mind of intentional thought and just "receive" 6. Write down what you receive and share with a trusted, like-minded believer "Because of God's tender mercy, the morning light from heaven is about to break upon us, to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, and to guide us to the path of peace." - Luke 1:78-79 "May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, LORD, my Rock and my Redeemed." - Psalm 19:14 "I remember the days long ago; I meditate on all your works and consider what your hands have done." - Psalm 143:5 "It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed." - Deuteronomy 31:8 "Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved." - Psalm 55:22 "The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles." -Psalm 34:17 "And the Lord came and called as before, "Samuel! Samuel!" And Samuel replied, "Speak, your servant is listening." - Samuel 3:10 What is your favorite way to worship? Share with us what makes you feel connected to God. By Holly M at 12:21pm

Written In Stone ActionsFebruary 7, 2018 Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches. To everyone who is victorious I will give some of the manna that has been hidden away in heaven. And I will give to each one a white stone, and on the stone will be engraved a new name that no one understands except the one who receives it. Revelation 2:17 There are many stories in scripture about people receiving a new name. In each case, the new name represents their essence or spiritual identity and comes at a time of physical or emotional hardship. In Genesis 17, a new name was given to Abram when he struggled to believe that he could ever have children. God encouraged him by giving him the new name, Abraham, which means "father of a multitude". His wife, Sarai also struggled with this issue. Her birth name means “argumentative” but God gave her a new identity - Sarah, which means “princess”. In Genesis 35, Jacob wrestles with God after a life marked by deception toward his family members. His birth name means “he undermines”. However, God gave him a new identity. He became Israel, which means “who prevails with God”. Later in Genesis 35, Jacob watches his beloved wife die after giving birth to his last son. In her final moments she named the boy Benoni, which means “son of my sorrow”. Jacob was not willing to allow his son to carry that identity and so he changed his name to Benjamin, which means “Son who will be fortunate”. Our Heavenly Father has the desire and ability to show us our true identity in him and to give us a new name. Scripture shows that during times of loss and hurt, God encourages us by calling us by the name He has given us. Reflection: A widely accepted explanations for the stone in Revelation 2:17 traces back to the ancient Roman custom of awarding white stones to the victors of athletic games. The winner of a contest was awarded a white stone with his name on it. This served as his “ticket” to a special awards banquet. With this view, Jesus promises entrance to the eternal victory celebration in heaven for those who stay faithful during their lives. He promises to write our new name on a stone, not only as a token of his acceptance but also a symbolic representation of our true spiritual identity. What identity has been given to you by others? What words (both good and bad) have been used to describe you? What identity have you given yourself? What words (both good and bad) have you used to describe yourself? Prayer: Father God, thank you for the life that you have given me. Please help me to stay strong during times of hardship and trouble. Please remind me that in my darkest moments you still see a child whom you love. Show me my true identity so that I may walk in it and honor you in all that I do. In Jesus name, Amen. By Heather P at 10:43am

Embracing Your Struggle ActionsMarch 24, 2017 “I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave. The Lord gave me what I had, and the Lord has taken it away. Praise the name of the Lord!” In all of this, Job did not sin by blaming God.” Job 1:21-22 If you’ve ever suffered from depression, these words might feel familiar. In our sadness, we tend to reflect on our life and mourn our circumstances. Here, Job is recognizing that he came into the world with nothing and he would leave the world with nothing and yet the Lord is worthy to be praised. If I am honest, I will say that I don’t personally believe that God takes anything from His children. When Job expressed this sentiment, I think he was speaking from a place of brokenness with a troubled perspective on his situation. Job was unaware of what took place a few verses earlier. Job 1:7-12 says: “Where have you come from?” the Lord asked Satan. Satan answered the Lord, “I have been patrolling the earth, watching everything that’s going on.” Then the Lord asked Satan, “Have you noticed my servant Job? He is the finest man in all the earth. He is blameless—a man of complete integrity. He fears God and stays away from evil.” Satan replied to the Lord, “Yes, but Job has good reason to fear God. You have always put a wall of protection around him and his home and his property. You have made him prosper in everything he does. Look how rich he is! But reach out and take away everything he has, and he will surely curse you to your face!” “All right, you may test him,” the Lord said to Satan. “Do whatever you want with everything he possesses, but don’t harm him physically.” So Satan left the Lord’s presence.” It is Satan who robs us. Why would God allow this? Why would a good God let someone beat up on His children? Perhaps it is because God sees a much bigger picture, not only for our lives but for the legacy our story will leave for our children. God knew Job’s heart. When Job says “Praise the name of the Lord!” I don’t think it is from a place of loss. I think that it is from a place of acceptance. Even when we experience loss in our lives, there is one thing Satan cannot rob us of – and that is the loving peace that comes with remaining in God’s presence. When you suffer your greatest losses, remember that God will never leave you or fail you. Put the devil to shame by clinging to God and leave a legacy of devoted faith for generations to find strength in. Father, you know my struggles and you know my weaknesses. Please help me to maintain a clear perspective and a holy focus during my most difficult times. When my wall of protection is brought down, help me to persevere and bring eternal glory to you. In Jesus’ name, Amen. By Heather P at 10:21am

The Unexpected Gift ActionsDecember 7, 2016 “I will answer them before they even call to me. While they are still talking about their needs, I will go ahead and answer their prayers!” Isaiah 65:24 During the Christmas Season, I often think about the gifts that Mary & Joseph were given by the wise men. Gold, frankincense and myrrh have significant symbolism and the couple may have recognized that, but I wonder what Mary thought when strangers arrived with these unexpected gifts. I wonder what she did with the gifts. I sometimes imagine Mary & Joseph living a simple life, similar to mine. Were they living in “lean times”? Did the gold come just at the moment when they weren’t sure how they were going to make ends meet? Isaiah 65:24 reminds us that God sees us and He is listening. He knows our needs before we pray and sometimes He answers before we ask Him for help. About three years ago, during a day off, I was cleaning around the house and noticed that we only had a couple diapers left. I thought to myself, “I don’t even have $20 to buy a case of diapers”. A few minutes later, my doorbell rang. I opened the door and my friend was standing there holding a $20 bill. She said “Heather, I was heading home and I felt like God wanted me to stop by and give you some money because you needed it.” My jaw dropped and I hugged her and said thank you. I told her I had just thought about this exact need. God is so good! In times of financial hardship I have learned to trust that He sees my need and hears my request. He hears yours too! This Advent Season, I challenge you to trust in God’s ability to provide your every need. Sometimes He gives lavishly and other times he gives just what we need. In both, we are truly blessed to be loved by a God who sees us and delights in surprising us with unexpected blessing. Father, thank you for the many blessings in my life. I am so blessed to be loved, protected and guided by you. Show me how I can be an unexpected blessing in the lives of others and help me to recognize every blessing that you provide. In Jesus’ name, Amen. By Heather P at 11:27am



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Devotionals From 2014

The Spirit In Our Hearts ActionsJuly 21, 2014 And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, "Abba! Father!"- Galatians 4:6 It is HIS spirit in us that cries

Devotions from 2013

God's Unfailing Love Sandra V December 29, 2013 We often forget how blessed we are to have a God that loves us so much. Even though we often make so many mistakes God is still there to love on us a

Abide Ministries Launches October 1, 2013

We're so excited to see Abide Ministries launch it's community forum on October 1st. We look forward to offering our readers weekly blogs, video teachings, small group curriculum and daily devotional

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page